Must Be Home…

Because I managed to get the kitchen unpacked and stocked up enough to cook dinner!

First dinner cooked and eaten in the House

Of course there weren’t enough chairs so Mr, Kat knelt on the floor (his idea not mine), I slightly overcooked the garlic, and we didn’t eat until 9 p.m., but hey, I hadn’t even tried this dish (chicken piccata) in 6 or 7 years, much less managed to make it edible. It was actually tender enough to cut with a fork and tasted pretty good (a touch too much flour in the dredge I think…). Now the dishwasher–which is not named Mr. Kat for the first time in 20 years–is cleaning up and I am having a glass of wine.

W00t!

Also, our bed was delivered and set up today and Mr. Kat made it up with clean sheets I washed in my very own washer and dried in my very own dryer! Luxury! Now we just need to get the rest of the bookshelves put together, find a few more chairs, tables, and lamps and we’re set! (well, we still have no beds for guests unless they will settle for air mattresses on the floor.)

Hokey Smoke! I’m a homeowner!

(Incidentally the dining room table is an old library table with a “butterfly” leaf that folds out of the middle. It’s cute, but not very large.)

Now if I can just get a few more things done on the business front, I may be able to get back to work. Have to write two books before the end of the year, so I’d better get cracking!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in house, Personal blither, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Must Be Home…

  1. Colleen (MizBehavin1) says:

    Congrats! Enjoy your new (to you) home! Dinner looks yummy — may your future cooking adventures be ever fruitful! 🙂

  2. Art says:

    Congratulations!

  3. Joshua Lucas says:

    Moving into a new place is always an adventure! Congratulations on the new house and all that goes with it. We are down sizing ourselves and cannot give stuff away. Moving into an Apartment from 3 bedroom house.

  4. Cyndy Otty says:

    Having my own washer, dryer and dishwasher is one of the best parts of having a house, I think. If only because I don’t need rolls upon rolls of quarters.

    Congrats again!

  5. Joshua: too bad I don’t live close enough to “help” you get rid of some of your furniture… 😉

  6. Rae says:

    Good luck with the furniture hunt. The fun never ends *g*

Comments are closed.