I See a Distant Light

A long, hard day at the computer, but reached 78,000 words on the WIP with 3,790 added today. Only 4.3 outline points left to cover, plus the prologue and epilogue. Looks like the MS will be about 90-95,000 words total. And on time.

I had a hard time sleeping last night, woke up at 5, then 6 a.m. Then said "to hell with it" at 6:50 and got out of bed. Poked at social media, walked dog in pouring rain only enough above freezing that it didn't come done as sleet, and got to work by 9 then got to writing by 10:30 (after managing email and so on.) I'm so tired and cold now that I think I'll go stare at pictures of food and maybe lick the boxes they're printed on….

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in FiMyDaNo, Posession, WiP. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I See a Distant Light

  1. Cherie Lyon says:

    Sounds like you need a pair of warm fuzzy slippers at work, a mug of hot chocolate and a cheeseball with crackers. Bella and Dad can share, I suppose…
    BTW, stop sending us M-Westerners your weather! ;p Just as you described yesterday, so we have today… Ick.

  2. Rae says:

    I know I am being selfish, but the more words the better! More Harper.

  3. me, I would like to put it to bed for a while, but… hey, different strokes…. 😉

  4. Rae says:

    I have heard authors say this sort of thing before. Does the book become a chore after a while? Do you just want it done?

  5. Yes. There are several points in the development and production of every book where its work, not play. It’s still the best job in the world, but it’s a job.

  6. Rae says:

    I can understand that the editing and checking part of the process could be very methodical and, frankly, boring, but does the first time writing part ever get to be just work?

  7. Yes. There are always bits that don’t go together well or that I wasn’t as prepared to write as I thought. Or that I just don’t enjoy the process of writing.

Comments are closed.