Stalking the Wordcount Goal….

Not quite the word count I made yesterday, but it’s within the goal I’d set of 2-3K per day and it took less time and cost less angst: 2,744 new words today for a manuscript total of 58,759. A little under where I’d hoped to be by the end of this week, but not by much–I was shooting for 60-64,000. I hope I can keep this up, but I’m a little worried about impending slates of further financial paperwork–a task I hate so much I’d prefer to a thousand papercuts and a swim in lemon juice. But… it’s all got to get done. And it will if it kills me.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in FiMyDaNo, Posession, WiP. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stalking the Wordcount Goal….

  1. Cherie Lyon says:

    I am concerned that word count will become more important than content. I’d rather you didn’t burn yourself out trying to make a deadline, artificial or not. Of course, if Inspiration is responsible for the fire under your tail, I’ll stand out of the way, but with a pail of water (in case Inspiration is infectious.) 🙂

  2. Sadly, I have no choice about the deadline–it’s not extendable at this point. But don’t worry about content–it’ll be fine even if I have to rewrite the whole beast in the revision process. This is just the first draft stage, so it’s often a bit less pretty than I’d like.

  3. Cherie Lyon says:

    First drafts are supposed to be messy, aren’t they? But I’m keeping you so I’ll shut up. Fluff the ‘towel monster’ for me; Bella looks so ‘wise’ in her picture.

Comments are closed.