The Next Big Thing (again): Possession–Greywalker #8

So, the wonderful Dana Cameron tagged me for The Next Big Thing. I met Dana in person at Bouchercon a few years ago when we were sitting on a panel for the then-new Wolfsbane and Mistletoe Anthology. Since then I’ve seen her at a few other conventions, but regardless of the time between visits, we always fall back into conversation like old friends. She’s a former archeologist–one of four writer/archeologists I know–and a delightful person as well as a thoughtful, fun writer with an always-intriguing take on whatever topic she tackles.

I’ve done this recently so I’ll try to be a little different this time…

Where did the idea come from for the book?
I’ve done a lot of other stories in the Greyewalker world with vampires and monsters. This time I wanted to do one that was just about ghosts.

What genre does your book fall under?
Occult Detective/Urban Fantasy/Paranormal PI…. It’s officially Urban Fantasy, but I don’t really like the term since some readers expect romance or sex in that niche, and mine aren’t either sexy or romantic.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? If I could have any actress to play Harper Blaine, I think I’d like someone like Kate Beckinsale, or Jennifer Garner. Not only do they have the right physical “look” and attitude, but they’re both taller than average. I kind of like T.J. Thyne for Quinton. It’s hard to cast, though, since not only would I be unlikely to have that opporutnity in real life, but… well, I don’t watch very much current TV or film, so I don’t know who most of the actors working today are.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? In POSSESSION, Harper Blaine must discover why comatose patients are being possessed by ghosts….

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? It is represented by an agency: The Cooke Agency of Toronto Canada. And it will be not be self-published. It should be out in hardcover from Roc in August of 2013.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I’m still working on that….

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I usually compare them with Jim Butcher’s books and Charlaine Harris’s Harper Connelly series.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? I like ghost stories!!

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? It has a ton of ghosts, a serial killer, a haunted bar, a ferris wheel, tunnels, and a ferret!

These are the folks Dana tagged with me:
Toni L. P. Kelner, Christopher Golden, & Elaine Viets

And here are the folks I’m tagging back:
Adrianne Wood–She’s got a new romance out and not only is she an amazing writer, she used to be my copyeditor. Truly, she’s great.

Jon Sprunk–We were agency mates when Jon’s first book came out. He’s a sweet, gentle, smart guy who writes wonderfully creepy fantasy novels about an assassin with a ghostly companion.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in blatant self-promotion, Cool writerly people. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Big Thing (again): Possession–Greywalker #8

  1. Miss Bliss says:

    Kat, your signing at Dark Delicacies a few years back was the first signing I ever bothered to attend. I remember asking you about this tendency for Urban Fantasy novels to actually be Romance novels in hiding and how much that frustrated me. I so appreciated that you let me know that it was an ongoing problem in the industry/genre and I still find that to be the case. Nothing wrong with Romance novels…but I like to know what I’m getting when I choose a book. I absolutely adore that your books are well crafted paranormal mysteries with lots of action and interesting characters. I’m always looking forward to your next Harper Blaine novel.

  2. Thank you, my dear! Luckily since there are now more men in the genre, it’s getting a little more solid and the division between SF Urban Fantasy and Romance Urban Fantasy is more marked and easier to spot.

Comments are closed.