Bella’s not quite this bad, but she used to be…. Sometimes I’m very sad I can’t just take Bella everywhere with me as I’d originally intended, but she’s such a good girl and I love her. I wish more people understood that my “bad dog” is a good dog. She’s just not a “dog person.”

Bull in the city

Many moons ago when I envisioned owning a dog I dreamed of taking my fictional dog to offleash parks for endless romps, lots of play-dates and generally a lot of problem and stress free dog-dog interactions. Then I got Jersey and this view abruptly changed. Offleash parks are not a part of my life and I honestly don’t even want to know what goes on in them. Every dog-dog greeting is carefully managed and controlled. I meticulously plan my walking routes based on likelihood of running into other dogs and ability to escape. I completely avoid any areas where offleash dogs congregate (meaning any piece of grass in Toronto)  even if it means I am walking next to roaring traffic.Jersey has made some great strides in her behavior around dogs but it is still a work in progress

I won’t lie my life can be more difficult and complicated because of Jersey’s…

View original post 887 more words

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in dog, Pupzilla, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Lizzie Henry says:

    I totally feel what you’re going through. My dog is just the same. She’s better than she used to be, too, but we always have to be watchful of her; especially at the vet. I feel like people misjudge her, too. She’s so sweet and loyal to all of us, but dogs and strangers terrify her. She’s not bad, she’s just scared. I don’t think she’d ever hurt a dog, she’d prefer to run away from them, but her loud barks and growls (that are really no more than a show) make people intimidated by her. Although, that is a rather funny notion because she’s a Pembroke Welsh Corgi and she’s not much taller than people’s ankles. I think your dog looks like a sweetheart and I’m sure she is. 🙂

  2. I think with the big emphasis on rescues, more people understand than they used to that some dogs are troubled and need extra help, but a lot just see a “mean dog” and don’t bother to know more. They can be very mean and rude about it. This kind of thing doesn’t make things any easier for Bella. And it makes me mad.

    Oddly, I had a corgi as a kid and I remember him as a really great, loyal little dog, but a bit stubborn and not fond of change. When my half-brother was born, he just couldn’t adjust and we had to find him another home. I loved that little dude, though.

  3. I had a rottie that loved everyone and every dog…except, small white fluffy dogs. No idea why, but she would turn into the stereotype people had of rotties. Which wouldn’t be so bad, but we competed in agility and obedience trials and do you know how many fluffy white dogs are in that!?
    We have a cocker spaniel now and she prefers people to other dogs. But she just turns her back on other dogs in a very deliberate way . I worked in dog training for about 10 years and saw tons of rescues. It is amazing how clueless people can be when it comes to their dogs. They think because their dog is friendly and loves other dogs that everyone else’s does too. I will flat out tell someone to keep their dog on a short lead when passing by my dog even though she wouldn’t do anything.

  4. Lizzie Henry says:

    Corgis are definitely very stubborn and averse to change. We were never able to teach Holly to come or “fetch” (she will run after a toy and pounce/chew on it, but will almost never bring it back). And I remember that in junior year of high school I was growing my bangs out and the first day I came down with barrettes holding my hair away from my face she barked and barked at me like I was a ghost, lol. She used to hate anything out of the ordinary: odd smells, the sound of the hose’s faucet being turned outside, people with hats on, and so much more. She’s better with most of that now, but it still takes her a while to warm up to people when they first come to the house (even family members she’s seen several times before).

    It’s funny that you say that your dog couldn’t handle the new baby, though, because I think Holly would actually love a baby. We had our family over for Christmas one year when Holly was about 2 or 3 and she met my little cousin, Ty, for the first time then when he was about 4 or 5. She was nervous and barky at first, like she always is, but once he was there long enough she was FASCINATED by him. She followed him around almost the entire day and was constantly touching her nose to his legs; it was absolutely adorable. I think she was surprised to see a human on close to her own level.

Comments are closed.