Dayfail

The dog won’t leave me alone, wants to go “relieve,” but won’t go out into the rain. Trying to get her to use the “Potty Patch” but she won’t. Much crying whining and barking (some from the dog.) I give up. So I walk the dog in the pouring rain–or rather DRAG the dog up the dock to the nearest tree. Mission accomplished in seconds! Kat fairly soaked below mid-thigh due to boat-practical shortness of coat.

Return to news that furnace cannot be fixed until AFTER Thanksgiving. (Temps expected to hang in the low 40s this week and next–fearing the electric bill for the room heaters….) Ton of new appointments for Mom that I have to be chauffer for in Thanksgiving week. Feeling a little overwhelmed….

Dog continues to annoy until I give in and provide her with a stuffed bone (beef shank bone stuffed with some kind of goop and baked hard.) At this rate of appeasement, she’s going to weigh a short ton before this book is finished. She will no longer be a pit bull, but a pit barrel.

Sit down to attempt writing… New leak has developed over office chair. Stuff hatch with paper towels and curse a lot.

Oh! And going out tonight to look at a new (to me) car to replace my Camry before the front end dies.

*headdesk*

Word count? What’s that? Why aren’t I Richard Castle? I would wave my magic NYT-Bestseller wallet and all of this would be fixed! Curse you TV for raising my expectations as a writer! Curse you!

And oh yes, haha: rain stopped. But deck still leaking.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Personal blither, Pupzilla, Woe is Kat. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dayfail

  1. R. K. MacPherson says:

    Well, take heart. Other writers mock Castle for his output (on-screen, no less). Nobody’s mocking you. Deep breaths. 🙂

  2. Patrick Doris says:

    Everything is fodder for the next book So be of the best cheer you can. You have my sympathy for your situation with your Mother . My wife had a brain tumor so we did a lot of appointments but no chemo , yet it seem there were at least three appointment a week ..

  3. Annie Quinty says:

    My thoughts are with you and your mom.
    Take good care of yourself.
    You’re an inspiration as a writer.

  4. Colleen (MizBehavin1) says:

    This post sounds like a unintended cry for virtual hugs, so consider them sent along with this visual to cheer you:
    From your description, in my mind’s eye I see Bella wearing a small wine cask like the old stereotypical images of naked hillbilly wearing a barrel. Better yet, thanks Jethro: http://www.adamblueproductions.com/jethroband/jethrobarrel211.gif.

    On a more serious note, sending positivity and light to you and your mom. All you can do is take a deep breath and know that you’ll fly through it soon enough.

    Also, take heart, I know for a fact that “Castle” phones it in. 😀

  5. Rae says:

    I am not sure if this is what you want to hear, but recently I started rereading Vanished and having done that HAD to keep reading into Labyrinth, not wanting the story to end. Part way through Labyrinth I put the book down and said to myself – this book is so well written and so enjoyable it is a real pleasure to read it.

    So whatever you do and whatever troubles you fight your way through know that it is all worthwhile and that this humble reader enjoys every word and cannot wait to read the next word.

Comments are closed.