A Dog Takes Up Residence

It appears that I’ve adopted a dog. Well, and Mr. Kat too, because while I’m obviously Numero Uno, I’m going to need a little help.

Remember the dog that appears in Underground… the pit-bull mix which accidentally got named after a girl in a certain very well-known YA vampire romance series…? Ummm…. yeah, well, that’s what came to live with us. Technically, our dog is a Staffordshire terrier–you can tell by the smaller size and slightly less blocky head that she’s not really an American Pit Bull Terrier, but… it’s a technical hair-split, so…

Bella met us at the pound and decided we needed her. We were forced to agree. She’s somewhere between one and two years, a stray who was picked up off the streets. She has some scars on her head and legs–we think they are from the fence in a kennel.  But she was so good tempered with the other dogs in the pound, we doubt she got her scars from scrapping with other dogs. We did have a small issue with piddling–it appears she’s really not housebroken, so we will have to watch her a bit and get her trained, but she’s a total lover. She loves people, she likes other dogs, she loves treats…

and she adores me. She follows me around. She wants to know where I am. She is upset when I leave (to buy puppy pads and Nature’s Miracle).

We walked her for almost 2 hours after we got her comfortable in the boat, but… no “packages” were left–so we’ll plainly be taking another walk tonight. But she’s sooooo tired now:

Bella's "Tired" face

Bella's "tired" face

And she is adorable. She already has a teddy to snuggle:

Bella In The Chair

Bella and her bear have taken over Mr. Kat's chair

Apparently, we’re going to have to get a couch soon so our “American Short-nosed Couch Hound” will not have to steal Mr. Kat’s recliner.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in dog, Personal blither, Unbearable cuteness. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Dog Takes Up Residence

  1. Andrew says:

    lol Cute. 😀 Hi, Bella!

  2. Carolyn says:

    She is adorable! Pits and staffies are pretty much the same thing. Either way wonderful dogs. Our pitty is like 75 lbs tho. I just call her The Beast. Haha haha

  3. Sûlien says:

    She’s a gorgeous dog and looks very happy to be there with you. Am Staff’s are one of the most friendly, loving dogs out there and I hope you have many happy years ahead of you with her.

    My Mom and I rescued an Am Staff off the highway out here on the coast and he’s been with my folks for almost three years now. He’s definitely one of the best dogs they’ve ever had, and that’s saying quite a bit.

  4. Sän says:

    SOOO HAPPY! 😀 I want to meet her! She looks so cute melted on pillows. And her coat is so pretty. I’ve always loved that coloring–it reminds me of bowling shoes in a strange way.

    I don’t know if you knew or not but I have an APBT and a pit mix… I love the bully breeds. And I love people who give strays homes. ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. Cyndy Otty says:

    Well, you obviously know my feelings on dogs. 😉 Very happy for all three of you and Bella is adorably cute!

  6. Thanks all. Bella is settling in nicely, though the housetraining may be a long haul. Still, she’s totally a sweetheart and as soon as we get her more comfortable with us, we’ll start doing more introductions. She’s very easy with people and she appears interested in, but not aggressive toward, most dogs, but we will go slow with that.

    First the basics, then the fancy stuff. Right now we’re good with “sit,” and getting the hang of “stay,” “heel,” and “come down” (which is our prompt for “come down the stairs on your own–I’m not carrying your 40-pound butt”). She also slept in her own bed just fine last night.

    And she rides beautifully in the car.

  7. Elaine says:

    I am quite cheered by your latest addition. Best of luck with Bella. She looks very sweet.

  8. Miss Bliss says:

    Awwwwww…what a cutie! Best of luck with your puppy adventures.

  9. Rae says:

    What a cutie!

  10. Cathy says:

    Adorable!

  11. Louise says:

    Oh, she is adorable! I hope that she brings much happiness and joy into your life. And that she gets housetrained and meet-new-people/dog trained expediently! 😀

Comments are closed.