Up Up… (and away?)

I took a look at my Bookscan numbers for last week (they are sent to me every Tuesday by my esteemed agent) and they are pretty much double or better than the numbers the previous week. Which is interesting, since the only thing I can think of that happened to raise them was that I had a birthday. But that doesn’t really make sense. People reading my blog and twitter feed are mostly fans already, so the offer of a free short story over the weekend doesn’t seem likely to have put my sales up that much in a single day (Bookscan is accounted for a calendar week, and is compiled on Mondays and put out on Tuesday) so something happened the week before that about which I know nothing. Whatever it was raised my books back out of the the first quarter slide into second quarter doldrums that they usually take.

Backlist usually rises just before a new release and these numbers aren’t so amazing and spectacular that they will make anyone gasp in unalloyed joy (most of the titles rose from the 40s and 50s in a week to near or just over 100 copies sold the next week in the major chains.) What pricks up my ears is that I can’t see anything that I did or that happened independently of me that caused a sudden rise in interest in my books. Not that I’m complaining, but since I’m as insecure as the next writer, I’m always trying to figure out what makes an impression on the buying public and if I can help that along.

But I have no ideas on this one. Do you?

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Up Up… (and away?)

  1. Zita says:

    You don’t think your time at the RT convention had anything to do with it?

  2. Rae Evans says:

    The great unwashed masses suddenly realised a good thing when it was in front of them on a book shelf?

    Seriously, I can’t think of anything, but I am dammed glad it happened.

    Rae

  3. RT might have had something to do with it, but it was at the beginning of the month and I usually expect to see spikes closer to an event. But whatever the case, I’m happy!

  4. Joy says:

    Since you gave permission, I sent your birthday-posted short story to a fellow fan… who was excited to find out you had a new book coming out in the very near future. Maybe posting the story galvanized people to actually go out and pick up copies of your books they’d been ‘meaning’ to buy but hadn’t gotten around to yet (or pre-order the new one)? Whatever the mechanism, my guess would be the motivator was your post of the story. (It shows a generosity that people tend to reciprocate, I believe, as well as being a teaser/reminder.)

  5. that’s certainly possible. Thank you Joy.

Comments are closed.