Now We Are 110K

And now I am done with draft 1 of LABYRINTH after 5,500 words Tuesday. The ms is off to my editor at a slightly bulky 110,600 words. I’m not sure how I feel about it. Sunday and Monday I hated it and wanted to kill all the characters off. Today I cried over what I did to some of them. Yes I did kill some off and others I just messed with pretty badly. I’m horrible to them.

For some reason I now cannot sleep and feel restless, in spite of 13 hours in the writing seat.

And now I have a day off before I have some computer stuff to do and a long (much delayed) weekend with my husband. Toodle-bye for now.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s), words, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now We Are 110K

  1. andrew says:

    Dang, girl! What did they do to deserve that? Double dang on the 110k, too. You must’ve really worked your thang off with it after some mess with title confusion and so forth. But I’m still looking forward to it. 1 love.

  2. Barb Hendee says:

    Hurrah! Let there be dancing.

    You should give yourself a little break and some down time. Do something fun for yourself.

    I can totally relate to hating the book one day, and then liking it the next. The worst feeling is when I think it is a work of genius the day I send it off to my editor, and then I wake up the next morning and completely panic (smiles).

    I think, “Oh my god! Why did I send that? It’s awful! What was I thinking?”

    That happens a lot.

  3. Rob says:

    Ho-le-crap!

    I’ve only been able to get up to 99,000 words. 13 hours? That is impressive.

    Wouldn’t be able to handle that much sitting time, though. I think my blood would clot. lol.

    Still, congrats.

    I’ve read Greywalker. Loved it. Plan to read the others very soon.

    keep up the good work.

  4. Thanks.

    It was not a fun bit of work (and my legs were not happy). Usually I do 500-2,000 a day and then have a life, but… sometimes you just plow on until you’re done.

  5. Patty Tran says:

    Just wanted to say I just started to read the 1st Greywalker book….and I love it!

    Keep up the work you are good!

Comments are closed.