Anne Sowards for the Win!

My editor reports happy ending to the title controversy: After much discussion, the title LABYRINTH is being reinstated for Greywalker #5. Kudos to the publisher for taking the risk on possible confusion in exchange for a title to die for. Thanks to sales and marketing departments for feeling confident they can sell it, and to publication team for going the extra mile.

I need to send cookies.

Many, many thanks to my editor, Anne Sowards–Anne rocks–and to Susan, the editorial director, for going to bat on this one for me.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in book business, love my editor. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Anne Sowards for the Win!

  1. Zita says:

    Congrats! Don’t worry, when it comes out I will make sure to buy the right book 🙂

  2. Marc says:

    I may have to send cookies, too. Bet mine are better! I do love that title, and already can’t wait for it to come out!

  3. Ace says:

    Do we need to send cookies, too?

    If so, where do we send them?

  4. hagelrat says:

    yeah I reckon i’ll be pre ordering it. 🙂

  5. You don’t need to send cookies, although I’m sure the folks at Penguin Group US appreciate the thank yous.

  6. Cat says:

    Hooray title selection going with the author’s preference! I still have much to learn about this whole publishing thing, but your fans (like me) are much appreciative to the Penguin Group US for realizing that the cover alone probably will eliminate mistaken identities. (Well, that and that little author thing.)
    Besides, maybe mistaken purchases will get you more fans! And in either case, it’s a good title. (I’m surprised they weren’t more worried about confusion with the novelization of the Labyrinth of David Bowie and his Amazing Codpiece.)

  7. They have never been afraid of accidental media tie-ins. And I’m frankly a fan of the film, so I would have no real problem with that, though some people might be slightly put off the association by the image of the rather upset woman entering a maze with gun drawn…

    (yes, I have seen the prelim cover rough and it is, as always, fantastic.)

  8. Marc says:

    @Cat – That was my initial thought as well, and I can’t say I disagree. Well, the Amazing Codpiece isn’t really for me. But other than that!

  9. andrew says:

    Yay yayyy! As part of the grey legion, I’mma cop that ish. Ya hear, Kat? I’mma cop dat ish!

Comments are closed.