Dazed, but Less Confused

I’m still kind of in a daze about the tour. Some of it was fantastic, some was so-so, and I’m still not sure how it all went.

But I’m home, rested, and back in the writing saddle. Have been granted a short extension of deadline and am doing 2K+ per day on the word count, so all is good there. Alas, the proposed (and we though approved) title for Greywalker #5 got the boot due to possible confusion with Kate Mosse’s historical novel, Labyrinth, so my editor and the publication crew are going back to the drawing board for a new title. This makes me sad, since Labyrinth was the title I preferred, but this is the way publishing gets at times and something will work out eventually. I have confidence in my editor and the publication team to come up with something that’s not only marketable, but good. They have not let me down yet.

Now I need some dinner, because today’s writing session scared the hoo-ha out of me and wore me out and now I’m shaking. I think that’s probably good, but it does feel a bit freaky. And when I can’t find a monster that works for me, I make one up, so I now have birthed a creeping thing of mist and shadow that spawns in graveyards and such….

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in book business, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dazed, but Less Confused

  1. Greg Otjen says:

    Welcome back to the Northwest! 🙂

  2. Creeping things of mist and shadow are good 🙂

  3. Cat says:

    Hmm. That sounds like a lovely monster you’ve got there. Don’t get too scared to go back and explore it some more!

    Have you considered using Labyrinth as a possible sub-title?

  4. Cat: If only…. The marketing department settled on a one-word title scheme for this series early on. Subtitles are not viable, alas. It’s just one of the quirks of publishing.

    Editor is going back with a list of possibles and the knowledge that we all prefer Labyrinth. Some of the “maybes” are OK, but that’s about the best I can feel about them. Perhaps someone will change their mind and OK our preference, but it’s now completely out of my hands. I’ve already gone to bat for this title twice and it’s now up to others. All losing battles have a point at which you have to say “enough” and let it go.

  5. Mummy Bear says:

    Glad to hear you can still scare yourself as much as you did your Mom with that “Halloween” story when you were 7. Awe & fright are wonderful in small amounts, nightmares for several weeks were not. A dose of your own is gool for you.

  6. Ace says:

    Creeping mist and shadow things.

    I like it.

Comments are closed.