Medieval Friends

I just noticed that I have two friends who are both into things medieval. Well, OK they aren’t my only friends who are and I had known this before, but they are certainly the ones who stand out from my eclectic crowd of fiends–umm… I mean friends–since they are both writers and researchers in the same field… and yet they do no know each other. I can’t help wondering how they’d get along… I suspect they would debate quite vociferously, but beyond that, I don’t know. Would they love each other? Hate each other? Go after each other with Gutenberg bibles (and main gauche) at 5 paces?

What do you think? Cage fight time? (and do bear in mind both are my friends, no fun-poking intended here, just wondering…):
Jeri Westerson (Getting Medieval, The Crispin Guest Historical noir novels)
vs
Anna Richenda (History Fish, The Saint and the Fasting Girl)

Two very different results from the same historical sources.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Cool writerly people, other people's books, research. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Medieval Friends

  1. Richenda says:

    How ’bout we battle with pikes! Um…wait. Her protag is a knight, mine is a nun. I’ll get killed. So…let’s have a dance off, instead. 🙂 Anyone play harp or mandolin?
    -Richenda

  2. I’m thinkin’ you and Jeri should be tossed into a Secret Passage in a Doomed House together and we’ll see who comes out… 😉

  3. Oh yeah. I can take you. I’ve got weapons. Lots of ’em.

    I don’t play instruments but I used to be a choir director and cantor at the local Catholic Church, so Church history is big with me, too. What’s a nice Jewish girl like me doing that. Looong story.

    A sing off? 🙂

  4. Hmmm… now that has possibilities….

  5. Zita says:

    Singing in the Secret Passage in a Doomed House…

  6. Inara/Dana says:

    *Snort!* I like the thought of dueling with Gutenberg bibles…

  7. Dueling with bibles while singing secret passages in the doomed house of pikes!

  8. Zita says:

    dueling with pikes while singing secret bible passages wearing medieval costumes in an doomed house high in the alps

  9. would they not, then, have to yodel?

  10. Richenda says:

    I refuse to use Gutenberg bibles. They are too large and all that parchment will ruin the acoustics. If we are going to sing in the secret passage of doom… Wait. Jeri said she’s a former Cantor? Kat! You’re rigging this against me. I’m back to the dance off idea. Can she dance in all that armor? Lol? I’d say NOT!

    So. No singing. But the bible is back in. (There’s only one, you know, and I call it.) I can beat her with it. The vibrations through the shining armor should do the trick. In her madness she will flail around said secret doom cave and I will make my escape!

  11. Are you saying you can beat a (k)night out in shining armor? Dude, I’d settle for any night out.

  12. A severe papercut with parchment? Or is that a parchment cut? Rolled up parchment at twenty paces? While singing in a locked room with… This is getting complicated.

  13. Zita says:

    i’ve got it! Step dancing (or krumping LOL) while reciting passages from medeival palimpsets, wearing the appropriate costumes, and dueling with pikes, in a doomed house in the mountains. The mountains can be the Rockies so they won’t have to yodel, if they want.

  14. Richenda says:

    Um…no. Too much…doom and parchment. Change of strategy, then.

    I think we need to fast forward a few centuries and fight it out Jane Austen style, in the drawing room, over a cup of tea. Yorkshire Gold.

    And if in the process of sipping our tea, we decide instead of quarreling to become fast friends, then I shall be none the sadder to have done it!

    We just need a little Devonshire cream and we’re set!

  15. How about Jane Austen zombie style? My favorite line from Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Mr. Bennet: “Girls! Pentagram of Death!”

  16. Zita says:

    Jeri, your kung fu is strong!

Comments are closed.