Updates to the reading list

I’ve been updating the reading list on this blog with the books I finished or started in February.  Generally I write them up when I’m done and put them in the month I finished.  I’m still nibbling on Lamentation since it takes some concentration, so the intrusion of my copyedit is keeping me from reading it faster, but I’ll get it done.

Now, back to the grind….

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in other people's books. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Updates to the reading list

  1. -V- says:

    Kat: I totally care about what others are reading! I get good ideas for my own wishlist, confirm my thoughts on a book (good and bad).
    From your list for Feb:
    Lamentation, by Ken Scholes (debut novel): This is on my wishlist.

    You Slay Me, by Katie MacAlister (Aisling Grey, Guardian novel #1): I adore Katie Mac. This is a fun series and I don’t really dig on the paranormal romance as a rule, but make an exception in her case.

    Night of the Loving Dead, by Casey Daniels (Pepper Martin series book): I have read the first two of this series and really only dug on the first one. The premise is cool, so will keep at ’em.

    The Ghost and the Haunted Mansion, by Alice Kemberly (Haunted Bookshop Mystery series book): This is one of my favorite series, cozy or otherwise. I have a hewgah crush on PI Jack the Ghost.

    Murder at the Bad Girl’s Bar and Grill, by N.M. Kelby (Mystery): I like the title, but I’d have to take a look if you didn’t dig it…

    Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Ray Dudgeon PI mystery #2): I can’t wait to get to this one! I loved BIG CITY,BAD BLOOD. I had my own voiceover going on as I read..It was Sam Elliott, but that’s just me. It worked.

    Why We Suck, by Dr. Denis Leary (Non-fiction Humor):Okie doke…love the title…

    The Stepsister Scheme, by Jim C. Hines (Fantasy): This looks fab and I could use it for my What’s In a Name Challenge for the family member category…intriguing premise.

    Reserved for the Cat, by Mercedes Lackey (Fantasy): It’s been forever since I’ve read an ML book and I really should get back there….

  2. MD says:

    Oh, I always love seeing what people are reading (I’m the kind of person that heads straight for the bookshelf when she comes to a flat)!

  3. As a writer, a reading list is kind of tough–you don’t want to offend anyone in your business, but you don’t want to lie either. At the same time, you want people to know that you do read and what you read and so on because it’s a good indicator of what goes on in your head and what you’re likely to be amenable to in professional terms.

    But as a writer, you still have to tread a little carefully.

  4. -V- says:

    I’d like to think that other authors know how honkin’ busy you as an author are and can’t get to all books. And there are going to be some that you like and some not so much. If they have their cranium’s on straight, they’ll take the criticism as it is meant and know there are others out there who will dig their work. We can’t like everything, cuz how boring would that be?
    I know I speak as a neophyte and can’t completely empathize what your writer world can be like, I can only hope for the best in people’s egos. Silly me. = )

  5. The roughest moments come from aspiring writers who want you to read their material and help them get published–and you can’t, won’t, or don’t have time–or from the fans of writers who take your not liking their favorite book as a sign that you’re slamming their taste.

    Most authors, editors, and agents who’ve been at this for a while know that writers under contract have limited time for reading and especially reading for a promotional blurb. Generally they aren’t a problem, but once in a while you find yourself in the “favor owing” position and that’s always hard to deal with if you can’t, in good conscience or without ruining your schedules, write something nice.

  6. -V- says:

    Ahh…..got it now…..I like being a teeny little cog in my little reading wheel.

Comments are closed.