People actually read this stuf…

It appears I should blog substantively more often: my views and linkage have sky rocketed since I started actually saying something.

Huh. Imagine that.

And that brings up a thought not unconnected to recent web discussions about blogging and promotion and such: what makes a good blog? or a good blog post? Personally I’m not interested in writing metrics–neither reading nor posting them–most of the time. And John Scalzi has already said everything really interesting about writing–Damn you Scalzi! Personal blither? Nah, most of the time, people’s journals are… well… boring. If you happen to be an interesting person doing interesting things, then your web journal may be fascinating, but, really… most of us are posting about our kids, pets, illnesses, and jobs. And most people already have experience with those, so there’s only so much that’s going to hold their attention.

You know what I think makes good blogging? Lies and exaggerations. Poking things with sticks. Photos (even lolcats). Humor, horror, nudity… and the occasional roasting and eating of sacred cows (not literal cows, of course–who really cares if you eat meat? Not me, unless it’s that particular cow that scared me when I was three, in which case I say "eat the whole thing!") And talking about things most people don’t do or don’t experience but would like to (or think they would like to.)

I suppose that last is part of the reason so many people read blogs by writers blogging about writing. But I think I’d rather blog about… boats, ferrets, getting lost in my hometown, finding neat stuff, going neat places, and meeting neat people. Because other than that, my life is pretty much like anyone else’s: get up, put on clothes, work, eat, shower, sleep, repeat. Booooooring!

Yes, I know… "where’s the nudity?" Well I won’t be showing you mine, but will you settle for a ferret?

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in ferrets, Personal blither, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to People actually read this stuf…

  1. MD says:

    Well, of course that’s a totally subjective question and I must say, that in most cases I can’t even say why I like a blog or why I find the content interesting. Sometimes you just feel like you “click” with the person on the other end, even if you can’t explain why.

    I admit it’s a little voyeuristic to subscribe to an author’s blog. I do find posts about writing interesting, but I also take posts about reading mostly because I’m always on the lookout for new good books:)

    Which doesn’t mean I would object to lolcats and nudity. I’m all for it!!

  2. Elaine says:

    Yes. I do actually read blog stuff, but not on a regular basis. And that’s what I like about blogging. I can drop in anytime and catch up, or not.

    The only nudity I like is “fake” nudity. Like on Atom Bomb Bikini http://rkullman.blogspot.com/ and I only check that out because Robert lives in my neighborhood (broadly speaking). Also, as an art student I was exposed to a lot of nudity and it just doesn’t affect me that much. I have a nude sketch on my wall that used to be in the bathroom (appropriate I thought) but I moved it once I realized why some were coming out of the bathroom wide-eyed and pale.

  3. I don’t actually intend to do all those things, myself. I’ve just noticed that they seem to work.

    I look horrible nude–need to lose weight and go back in time a bit. Though I will occasionally poke sacred cows with sticks. 😉

  4. -V- says:

    And there’s all those stickers poking into the naked feet while one nakedly pokes sacred cows..and there’s the sacred cow poop….
    I skim some blogs, some I read thoroughly. Mostly I return to the ones by folks who are reading or working on books I want to read, especially in the genres I like. It feels a wee bit voyeuristic/stalkeresque…but I get over it…

  5. Dave says:

    I like reading your blog because of who you are. That means, I guess, I would read whatever you write.

    I have enjoyed reading about your life on a boat. And your pets. And the writing process. And… to be honest, I guess everything. 😎

  6. Sandy says:

    I end my day, everyday, with checking your blog. It helps me feel as if I am keeping in touch with your life, your hubby, whom I have a fondness for, strangely enough and of course your pets. OOPS, did I mention your books? That goes without saying but I should say it anyway! ,,and I did! Keep blogging. I say that for purely selfish reasons I expect but don’t care..

  7. hairy brother in-law says:

    I have let my blog become forgotten and ivy covered, but I would like to keep it up. The big trouble is that I don’t actually have much to say. Perhaps you could update my blog for me (for a small fee of course) and make me quite dashing. You could have me doing all kinds of fun things everyday – can I be rich as well as eccentric?

    I wonder how much that would cost?

  8. hairy thing: yes, I know. I went there the other day and it hadn’t been updated in a year. Booo! Until you and the lovely Dawn land here in Washington again, how will I know what’s up?

    I shall endeavor to blog more substantively, though I can’t guarantee frequency.

    And I just got cover flats for the reissue of Poltergeist–they are on gold foil and so lovely I want to lick them!

Comments are closed.