Book Review: Trigger City

I’m copying this from my Recent Reading page because I just can’t let it hide in a corner.  I love this book that much.

Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Ray Dudgeon PI mystery #2): First I have to own up that I know Sean and consider him a friend so, yes I’m biased, but… Goddamn is this a good book!  I liked the first one, Big City, Bad Blood, a lot and I like this one even more.  Sean’s already-sharp and noir-lyric writing has gotten even better and his plot is tighter than ever.  PI-hero Ray Dudgeon is still messed up and hardheaded, but you have to pull for him, love him, and admire his sense of honor.  He’s a twenty-first century Sam Spade.  This time around Ray gets sucked into dark doings that revolve around the murder of the daughter of a retired Army Intelligence officer, the suicide of her killer, private military contractors, Chinese dissidents, and political corruption.  I had the feeling there was some tiny flaw somewhere, but I never could put my finger on it, so hypnotic is Chercover’s storytelling.    I’s a corker of a story, violent and gritty and mesmerizing. Chercover is still the best new PI novelist of the decade.

The downside: it’s so good it makes me cry and think I’ll never equal it.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Book reviews news and 'zines, Cool writerly people, other people's books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Trigger City

  1. jon jordan says:

    You’ll equal it in your own way. Apples and oranges and all that.

    And I loved Trigger City too.

    Try singing Paradise City by Guns ‘n Roses replaceing paradise with trigger….

    yes, I am bored thank you

  2. Jon, you’re too sweet. And evil. Now I have that song stuck in my head.

    Evil evil Jon! (god, I love you guys.)

  3. Dana KIng says:

    I was lucky enough to be asked to review TRIGGER CITY. I’m not a friend of Sean’s (not like we’re un-friends; I just don;t know him), but I liked the book mas much a you did. Highly recommended.

  4. I’m glad to hear that. It is a remarkable book. Thanks, Dana.

Comments are closed.