Quickie Post

Greywalker mass market proof went off yesterday, so should arrive on time at Roc, but just in case, the Post Awful screws up again, I sent a detailed list of the six, yes only 6! errors I found. I’m so pleased.

Revision of VANISHED has been officially accepted and now enters the copyedit stage. More excellentness in the publishing cycle.

I have hired an independent publicist to work with my publisher’s publicist in hopes of covering a lot more ground and getting a bit more buzz than we got last year. For some unknown reason, none of the major industry organs or significant consumer publications reviewed my book last year and I don’t want that to happen this year. Also, I want to build on the pass-along success of MEAN STREETS while it’s still a nice warm buzz in the minds of Jim Butcher’s and Simon Green’s fans. I like Jim and Simon both very much but I’m not letting them have all the fun. Tom and I deserve some fan-love too and I’m going to hunt it down with a fork and pin it to the ground and roll in it like a dog with a dead fish. (Yay!) It’s a financial risk, but failure to fly this time will be a bigger one, so… I’m giving it a bit more wind beneath its wings–I hope.

I’m reading books and starting in on a new project. I have been trying to work on the notes for Book 5, but I really want to work on a non-Harper project for a while, so I’m giving the librarian a chance to enthrall me.

Still have a cold, but it’s slowly dwindling away with much nose-blowing and cough syrup-swilling.

And if you haven’t already checked them out, go admire Jim C. Hines’s Goblin Minitures: they rock!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Cool writerly people, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quickie Post

  1. Barb Hendee says:

    Kat, if possible, I would like to chat about your decision to hire a publicist–J.C. and I are awful at promotion.

    Would you email me?

    barb@nobledead.com

  2. Adele says:

    Good plan, more fans means more likely we all get to demand more books right?

  3. hehehe… more books is good for everyone!

  4. Dave Bara says:

    From the title of this post I thought it would be about something else… sigh…

    db

  5. MichaelEhart says:

    😦 Yes, like Dave, I opened this post with trembling hands and an unholy sense of anticipation, only to find…
    Kat chaste instead of Kat chased.
    Tease.

  6. Well, at least you guys dropped in… I see the only thing that gets your attention these days is sex.

Comments are closed.