Maybe a Movie…? (not mine, don’t get excited)

It appears that my agency-buddy Jim C. Hines is on the way to Harry Potter style stardom… or not. Seems the press has gotten the idea that a movie is going to be made based on is new (and very good) book The Stepsister Scheme. But according to Jim–and I don’t believe he’s blowing smoke up our skirts on this–there is no such thing in negotiation. But if there were, it couldn’t happen to a nicer guy.

And that makes me think… what books would I (or you) like to see become movies? (Aside from mine.) I read so few books I enjoyed in 2008 that I’d have a hard time picking one, though I thought Nicholas Pekearo’s The Wolfman would be kind of nifty as a Dark Fantasy Crime movie. Some books are really not great film material or couldn’t be done well, others might do better as TV series but not film. So what book that came out in 2008 would you like to see made into a film?

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in movies, other people's books. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Maybe a Movie…? (not mine, don’t get excited)

  1. SciFiGuy says:

    I think a movie based on Colleen Gleason’s Gardella Vampire Chronicles would rock. Period costumes and thrills. It’s a given that the Greywalker books would make a great movie or TV series. Cross our fingers – one day.

  2. Mario says:

    Anything by Steve Alten. If you ever read one of his novels, it’s like watching a movie in you head. In fact, I remembering reading a while back that they were going turn one of his books into a movie (one of the MEG novels), but it’s in development hell…apparently too costly or something.

  3. Right now it seems like “too expensive” is the death knell of a lot of great projects. The Alten books would be cool, as would the Gardella Vampires. Mmm….

  4. Shay says:

    I would love to see T.A. Pratt’s Marla Mason novels get the movie treatment. Vonda McIntyre’s Starfarer books would be sublime. Pick a book by Andre Norton and I’d love to see it made. Joshua Palmatier’s novels would be good as well.

  5. Heheh… I’m such a fan of Joshua’s that would just tickle me pink. And I’m always surprised no one’s done something with one of Norton’s books by now. So many would have been marketed as YA now and that’s become such a huge market. They still stand up fine, too.

    I haven’t read Pratt’s books yet, so I can’t comment but I know they are very popular and that certainly doesn’t hurt.

  6. Shay says:

    The lack of movies or miniseries or something for Andre Norton continually surprises me. Scifi channel did the Earthsea books so it wouldn’t be too out ornery to suggest something by her.

    I didn’t include Dune on my list because Peter Berg is taking a stab at it so I very much look forward to it. The 1984 movie and the SciFi miniseries, while good, lacked something.

    You should pick up T.A. Pratt’s books. Marla Mason is very unique and the magic system he developed is very good. I’ve enjoyed them immensely.

  7. It’s just a matter of time. I spent most of my reading time last year on books for various volunteer lists, competitions, and blurbs, which left very little time for books just for the fun of it. I won’t be doing that this year.

Comments are closed.