Owie

So… today we helped Cherie and Aric move to their new apartment.  It went pretty quick and easy and we got pizza!  But I fell going up the steps and skinned my knees.  I realize I’m horrendously out of shape (in addition to being overweight at the moment) since carrying the few boxes and furnishings up and down the stairs and so on left me with knees that are aching from the unaccustomed abuse as well as the imminent bruises.  And my arms and hands are very tired from holding onto things.  Wow… I’m a big lump of blob-o these days.  How dreadful.

But the new apartment is lovely and the building is nice and everything got moved so it’s just cleaning and setting and unpacking for them.  And Spain has given it her big-eyed merrr of approval.  So all is well.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Cool writerly people, Personal blither. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Owie

  1. Sandy says:

    oh, pooh, you are not!! just think how clever you were to fall UP the stairs and not DOWN! give yourself some tlc for the trauma.

  2. I had a drink when we got home and a nice hot shower. The knees look a bit tragic, but I’ll survive. It was a touch embarrassing, though since all my skinny writer buddies were looking on at the time. I used to carry heavy bits of boat around and now I fall on my nose carrying 16-lbs of cat litter…. At least Spain the cat appreciated it.

  3. Barb Hendee says:

    Oh, Kat, I’m so sorry about your knee. Ouch!

    Knees are one of the most awkward places for injuries.

    I’m on the “runty” side of things, but I’m so out of shape! We helped our daughter move into a new apartment a few years ago, and the elevator was broken, and I carried box after box up four flights of stairs . . . all day.

    When I woke up the next morning, I truly thought I would die. I could not move my legs, and I thought, “Good gravy, Barb. You have to join a gym or something.”

    I think we just spend too much time writing.

    I hope your knee heals soon.

  4. Jenna says:

    I’m sending good healing vibes to your character building experience. I’ll bet you’re now experiencing next day stiffness to top it all off.

    Back in 2000 I was moving into an apartment on the top floor of a three story apartment building. From the parking lot you had to walk down a tall staircase (I think it was about 30 steps give or take) and then walk up two and a half flights to my apartment. All I can say is I was thankful I had hired movers because just unloading my car just about killed me.

    I hope Spain gave you some some lovin’ after that. Or at least has a mental IOU in that furry little head of his.

  5. J.D. Rhoades says:

    “big lump of blob-o”? Au contraire, darlin’. Hope you feel better.

  6. Knees are better, but the muscles are complaining… as they always do on Day 2. Thanks, Dusty. Hope all is well in your neck o’ the woods.

Comments are closed.