Off and Away!

And so, off went the revised VANISHED files this afternoon. Bye-bye!

Final word count after read-through and tweak: 108,650 (exactly, not approximated.) And some of it is so good it makes me cry. (Thanks to the evil Mark Henry who made a suggestion I didn’t want to take, but that snuck in anyhow.)

Now I can settle down to read a bit, work on Book 5, then the SF forensic thriller, and the librarian superhero book!

At least until the copyedits arrive.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Off and Away!

  1. Barb Hendee says:

    Hi Kat,

    Congratulations! Great news. Have champagne and chocolate for dinner!

    Finishing a revision always feels huge to me.

    When I do independent novels, I end up “adding” in the revision, and on the Noble Dead novels (with J.C.) we always end up being told to “cut” 20,000 words.

    Do you go through phases regarding how you feel about the book?

    At some phases, I feel like I should be bronzed for posterity–cause the book is so brilliant.

    Then about the time the galleys show up, I go into a freefall panic thinking, “Oh my God! This is awful. What was I thinking? And now I can’t change anything! Oh my God!”

    Then I calm down.

    Does that ever happen?

  2. Oh yeah… I have the phase thing.

    I rarely think the book is brilliant once I start writing it–I always think it’s going to be the most amazing book ever while I’m just noodling the idea, but once it’s in the words-on-screen stage I start to despair and become sure I’ve bitten off more than I can chew, but I’m stuck with it. Except when I get to put in something really evil, then I like it again.

    Somewhere around the end of the first submission draft I start to hate it. I think it stinks and it’s eating my life and I resent it horribly. I’m always relieved when I send it to the editor.

    During the revision I start out by despairing that all the changes the editor wants mean I did a bad job, that my new book is a disaster and unsalvageable and… well I suck. But once I get well into it, I start to see all kinds of possibilities for making things so much more fun and tricky and I like the work up to a point where I’m panicking and typing madly to meet the deadline and I get no sleep and I’m a grumpy dreadful person. Then I hate it again and can’t wait to see it go away.

    Then sometime in copyedit or proof I suddenly see how clever I’ve been in spots and I think “well… who wrote that… because it can’t have been me… Did I do that? Wow…”

    After that I never read it again. I do the galley proof strictly on a mechanical level and say “that’s done!” I can get through a proof in a day or less that way. If I stop to really pay attention, I can’t finish.

    So far I’ve never re-read my own novels from front to back once they are published–the short story and novella, yes, but not the novels. I just can’t make myself do more than look at the excerpts for publicity purposes. I am sure the book is an embarrassment and I don’t want to know how much.

    Eventually I suppose I’m going to have to re-read them all so I know what I’m doing that the fans keep telling me about, but… I hope I can put that off a little longer.

  3. Barb Hendee says:

    Oh, Kat,

    You and I have a lot in common–including the same publisher.

    Check out my Live Journal:

    http://barbhendee.livejournal.com/

  4. My goodness1 What a small world!

    (I too have an LJ and have friended you… how did we end up connecting via WordPress instead?)

Comments are closed.