A Merry Christmas for Mean Streets

Yay! First I have to say "I love Kimberly Swan." Yes I do. She always seems to to say nice things about my books. (I do not know her nor do I pay her, so that’s very cool.) She’s the first non-Harriet to post a review of Mean Streets the novella collection that is being released early next month. W00t!

Also, I now have a publicist at Penguin again (hi Roseanne!) and the first thing she got stuck with was helping set up a bookfair appearance for yours truly this coming January 3 & 4 at the Downtown Seattle Barnes and Noble. As a result there will be me signing the very first distributed copies of MEAN STREETS (and anything else anyone shoves under my pen), readings from Brailled books–including the latest J.K. Rowling tale "Beadle the Bard"–and lots of other neat authors milling about getting in trouble. I’ll actually only be there Sunday afternoon, but there will be other wonderful writers around all weekend, including one of my favorite people, Louise Marley in her "Toby Bishop" guise.

The Bookfair is being arranged by the National Federation for the Blind to benefit Braille literacy for blind and hard-of-sight children. It’s also Louis Braille’s birthday! Braille literacy bookfairs should be popping up at B&Ns all over the nation for this date to help raise funds to teach blind kids braille since currently less than 10% of blind and hard-of-sight children are taught Braille. More bookfairs are scheduled for October to raise more funds so if you don’t get to the January one, look for one in October.

On a coincidentally related note: I got my copies of the audio version of POLTERGEIST yesterday! Wheee! At this rate UNDERGROUND should be available in March, so I’m jazzed!

And now… back to revising!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in audio, braille, Conventions and signings, Cool writerly people, other people's books, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Merry Christmas for Mean Streets

  1. -V- says:

    I have POLTERGEIST and GREYWALKER on my RecordedBooks wishlist. Can’t wait til they come up to send my way. Looking forward to how it sounds.

  2. Hurray! I hope they are OK. I’ve never had time to sit and listen to them. I’m too easily distracted when someone reads me a story to want to do anything else, so I rarely listen to audio books.

  3. Jenna says:

    Yay! That really is a good review. You are the only author of the four in Mean Steets that I’ve read so far. I’m looking forward to my introduction to Butcher, Green and Sniegoski.

    The lovely Roseanne needs to get you back to Powell’s Books.

    I had no idea so few blind and hard-of-sight children were taught to read braille. Thank you for sharing this. I’m very intrigued.

    I hope you’re keeping warm. Seattle got more snow than Portland did today. Of course that arctic blast hit Seattle first so I guess that makes sense.

  4. It’s a bit frosty up here on the boat, but we’re doing OK. Water’s actually the bad thing, since pipes to the dock are frozen and our tanks are not full. But we’ll make it.

    Unfortunately, no one sends writers out on anthologies. If they happen to be in the same area at the same time, something might be cooked up, but not for this one. I do love Powell’s though. I’m sure I’ll see you guys in August when Greywalker #4 is out.

  5. hagelrat says:

    all very exciting, happy christmas!!

  6. Louise says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing you again, Kat!

  7. Can’t wait! It seems like ages since I saw you in person.

Comments are closed.