Done! for now….

At last! I just spellchecked and sent the first draft of VANISHED, Greywalker #4, to my editors and agents for review and revision. It’s a bit short at 88,200 words and I know I didn’t get some of it right, but it’s done, it’s complete, it’s on time, and it’s Off My Desk!

I shall go have a small nervous breakdown now…

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Done! for now….

  1. Elaine says:

    Congratulations on finishing the draft. Is it my imagination or are you getting faster? I hope your breakdown was a nice break. 🙂

  2. No, alas. This book took 6 months and has been a painful slog all the way with many interruptions. Usually they take 3.

  3. Jenna says:

    How long does it generally take for your book to be read and sent back for edits? Long enough to have your breakdown along with recovery time I hope.

  4. I can’t say for sure (although that breakdown time is looking pretty sexy right now). My editor may take a few days or she may take a month, depending on her schedule. I’ve heard of editors who do 5 day turn arounds and those who take 2-3 months, so it’s a bit of a crap shoot.

    The driving constant is the print and distribution schedule. The editor must get things back to the writer with enough lead time for the writer to make the requested changes and return them within the publication stream timeline. If anyone misses a deadline, publication of the book may be pushed off for up to a year or more. Most editors build some slop into the deadlines so they can still make it into publication even if things are a few days out of whack, but when you’re already running late or on tight deadlines for a “fast track” schedule (one that gets the ms into the print queue faster than a year out) there really is no such thing as “slack.”

  5. Brian says:

    This is excellent news since I finally sat down to read Underground. I absolutely LOVED it and am looking forward to the next installment. I’m glad that the draft is done and hope that you enjoyed a few moments of relief. Now get back to work! 😉

  6. Brian says:

    I really enjoyed Underground a lot. Question: Was Underground the first available in hard cover?

  7. Yeah, Underground is the first hardbound. Supposedly the next 3 will all be hardbound also, with a standard mass market paperback release one year later. To the best of my knowledge there are no plans to bring the first 2 out in hardcover or to do a trade paperback of the new books. I know that messes up the shelves, but that’s just another fun mystery of publishing.

    The standard paperbacks will be released next year, so Greywalker’s mass market will be in June, Poltergeist in July and Underground in August about the same time as the hardbound of Vanished.

  8. Brian says:

    Excellent. Thanks for the information. Publishing seems to be the last of the black arts and I’m sure that we’ll never fully understand it. I enjoy the books no matter how they are bound and I can’t wait for the next book to be released.

Comments are closed.