Like a Kick to the Gut

Dexter, our dear old ferret, is no more.  We went to the vet this morning for his usual shot, but his condition had so badly deteriorated that it was pointless.  Lots of medical discussion later, I had to decide if I was going to try to keep him going for a few more weeks with three additional meds up to three times a day, plus pain pills.  It just didn’t seem right to torment him with meds he didn’t want to take just to keep him around a bit longer.  And thus the end, at which I held him and watched that little light extinguish, one last jolt of discomfort and then no more.

Good-bye Dexter, Handsome Lad, the diplomat of the ferret world.  Good night little guy.

Dexter in a paper bag

Dexter in a paper bag

Dexter in front... Taz bringing up the rear

Dexter in front... Taz bringing up the rear--That's one LOOONG ferret.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in ferrets. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Like a Kick to the Gut

  1. Adele says:

    Oh Kat I am sorry, always a hard decision and terrible to lose a furball.

  2. Awww. I’m sorry Kat. Your ferrets meant so much to you.

    John P

  3. We still have Taz, but at the moment, he seems kind of sad, too.

  4. Mary Featherston says:

    I’m sorry to hear about Dexter, Kat. Give Taz a scritch for me.

  5. Mike Bara says:

    I’m very sorry to hear this, Kat. 😦

  6. Jenna says:

    Oh Kat, I’m so sorry for your loss.

  7. Dave says:

    It’s never fun to lose a member of the family, even furred ones. I feel for you. *hugs*

  8. Sandy says:

    oh, my heart grieves with you, you know that we have been there too. Hugs to all three of you, poor Taz will be so lost.

  9. Cynthia says:

    I’m so sorry.

  10. tibby says:

    First time commenter, just wanted to say how sorry I am for your loss.

  11. Sam Houston says:

    Sorry to see that you’ve lost Dexter. I know that losing a pet is never easy but I’ll bet you have some terrific memories of the little guy. All the best.

    Sam

  12. Cam says:

    Kat,

    I’m so, so sorry to hear about Dexter. *hugs*

  13. Thanks, all of you. I’m feeling less horrible now, but I have to concentrate on finishing the book–which is due Friday and is hard to work on due to all the icky nasty things that happen near the end. I’ll come back up for air when I’m done.

    Thanks again; your best wishes are appreciated.

  14. Elaine says:

    I’m so sad to learn about Dexter. I have tears in my eyes. My dog is old and I know eventually I’ll be in that place. Glad your feeling better.

Comments are closed.