Spammed!

I’m aghast: I’m watching my mail client download the mail. I checked 30 minutes ago and got 20 messages–mostly spam–now, I’m watching it download 4032. Yes. Four-thousand, thirty-two. I may be sick….

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in computer stuff, internet stuff, Personal blither. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spammed!

  1. Sandy says:

    How on earth can that happen to your system of all systems?? I just do not understand. I cannot imagine how you must feel. I send hugs, encouragement, a curse to the spammers, and other bright ideas that I have yet to have!

  2. The problem is that the site address is very public and spammers pick it up and spoof the address as their “from” so when their mails are rejected, lazy ISPs bounce them back to me at the false from address, rather than sending them back to the actual IP from which they were sent.

    I’ve been keeping the old address open since a lot of people still had it, but I will probably be shutting it down soon, since this has to stop. My IP doesn’t currently filter any of my incoming mail because I was losing legit stuff. But I’ll be asking them to filter it all very soon.

  3. Elaine says:

    Ah! Spoofing! I had that for awhile. Friends had to find my emails in their junk folders. It did stop after about a year(?) – something like that. I complained to my domain hosting service but they said there was nothing they could do about it. Never got thousands, though, more like hundreds. Some with attachments. I filter my mail three ways and still check in the junk folder to make sure I haven’t missed something legit.

  4. Adele says:

    spammers should be taken outside and “spammed” with tinned meat product.

Comments are closed.