Ah, the irony….

Warning: this is a personal venting post–no hugging will be tolerated.

This is beyond ironic: A few months ago, my mom’s girlfriend laid down an edict as from On High that if I “trashed (my) mom in a book (I’d) have to dedicate one to her.”

Now, this is insulting for several reasons, chiefly because it assumes:

  1. Harper is a Mary Sue
  2. Harper’s Mom is a vicious caricature of my own mother*
  3. I can’t create a character who isn’t based on someone I know
  4. I would not otherwise dedicate a book to my mom**
  5. I’d resort to working out personal issues by spilling ink***

My mom and I do have some problems–most child-parent relationships are prone to these–but I hope I’m a better, more mature person than to write a book just for revenge over things that happened when we were both younger and more stupid. No, I’d blog about that.

Now here’s the irony: Mom is sleeping on my bunk this minute because the same girlfriend hit her in the face a few days ago and mom fled the house (who’s trashing who here?) Meanwhile I’m trying to write a series of scenes for Book 4 in which Harper is dealing with her horrendous mother. Ah the “muse” is fuckin wid my widdle head….

If I were Harper I’d have thrown my mom overboard. But, no. She’s sleeping warm and dry and perfectly safe in my bunk. I wish I were the one sleeping in it, to be honest. I was up until 3 a.m. working on the ms last night and dragged my sorry ass out to take Mom’s phone call at 7 a.m. Blargh… zombie writer… arraagghhhh… grrr….

No, no. I wouldn’t trash my mom in a book. I’d trash her girlfriend.

*Oh come on! Harper’s Mom is a riff on Rose Hovic; and I am not Gypsy Rose Lee.
**I haven’t dedicated a book to my dad, yet, either.
***OK, I am currently spilling electrons to work out this particular issue, but damn, woman. Don’t go smacking my mom!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in family crap, Personal blither, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ah, the irony….

  1. Adele says:

    Shit! are you gonna go smack the girlfriend right back?

  2. Nope. The court is dealing with it, as is appropriate. But… damn!

  3. Adele says:

    Damn is right!

  4. It makes me mad. I know mom will be annoyed–not to mention the girlfriend–when they see this post, but, it’s the sort of thing too many people try to sweep under the rug. Not this rug, not this time.

  5. Sandy says:

    Hang in there. I am so proud of you. as always. Hey, I know some people who know some people……

  6. Thanks Sandy. 🙂

  7. Mummy Bear says:

    I don’t know why the truth should be so difficult for some people to see. If you aren’t willing to do the time don’t do the crime!

Comments are closed.