Compare and Contrast–and Comment

This morning I got a new version of the Underground cover from my editor. I’m not as crazy about it, but, hey, I’m a writer, not a graphic artist. So… I thought I’d ask what you guys think.

Here’s the new cover:

And the previous version:

Reaction? Thoughts? Votes?

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Compare and Contrast–and Comment

  1. Michelle in Colorado Springs says:

    I like the second one better, but I have noticed that red covers are big right now.

  2. Elaine says:

    Looks to me like six of one, half dozen of the other. I like the red in the new cover except for the words “A Greywalker Novel.” Those words kinda get lost.

    Best wishes for a great weekend and heavy sales!

  3. SYnde says:

    I like the first one without the red better. Ithinkthe pred is way to predictable.
    synde

  4. SYnde says:

    oops I mean red!

  5. Adele says:

    I have to agree I like the white text better.

  6. Cynthia says:

    the one without red is better

  7. Trace says:

    I like the new red tented one. It pops more.

  8. Cam says:

    I have to agree; I prefer the white text.

  9. Dave says:

    Like the one without the red myself.

  10. Mike Bara says:

    The first one, without the red.

    At least you didn’t end up with comic book yellow like I did on my first book.

  11. Okay, well it seems like the broad consensus is “red layer to pic is nice, but red text is too hard to read.” Thanks guys!

  12. Mummy Bear says:

    The white one is easier to read, also the red foil for your name only would be nice.

  13. I’m still unsure exactly what the extent of the foil will be, but they are definitely sticking with the red text as shown–there’s also red-on-black on the back cover and spine. I hope it includes the “National Bestseller” title in the foiling, since –at the risk of sounding arrogant– I worked hard for that.

Comments are closed.