Bookscan Means Nothing! (Thank You Indies!)

I feel a little odd about this, but I’m so blown away I don’t know what else to do but run around crowing and acting insane:

I got my first royalty statement for Poltergeist today. I was prepared for bad news, since the Bookscan numbers on the sales were lower and slower than they were for Greywalker, but…

No.

Poltergeist sold more than 24,400 copies its first 5 months in release! ( Nearly the whole first print run.)

Which is almost 100% better than Bookscan reported.

And that’s 2,500 more books than Greywalker sold in its first 5 months in release–which were really good sales by all accounts!

And I thought the book was tanking because the Bookscan numbers and Amazon rankings were so low! (shows what I know.)

Obviously I owe a huge thank you to the independent bookstores (like Seattle Mystery, U-Books, Borderlands, Epilogue, and the rest), which aren’t reported on Bookscan, and to my buddies at key B&N stores who pushed the book like mad. I love you guys!

Wheeee!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Personal blither, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bookscan Means Nothing! (Thank You Indies!)

  1. Toast/Adele says:

    Poltergeist finally turned up in my local Waterstones today, so guess what I broght home. 🙂

  2. Oo! Lucky you! (and me!)

    I’m going to be in London in May and I think I’m supposed to meet with someone from Waterstones. We shall see….

  3. Toast/Adele says:

    Awesome, arrange a signing at one of the Leicester branches, or even birmingham or Notts, so I can come. 🙂
    Moving house at the moment so too broke for London.

  4. I shall see what I can manage. I actually have some family stuff up in Norfolk and Ipswich which may cut into my ability to run around as much as I’d like.

  5. Elaine says:

    Congratulations on the fabulous sales. Looks like you’ve truly earned that “bestselling author” title.

Comments are closed.