Bone Song

I feel kind of silly about it, but I just noticed that the Amazon listing for John Meany’s US debut novel, Bone Song, is up with a publication date of February 26. Why am I excited? Because I read the galley back in August while I was on my tiny book tour and sent in a quote for it and now it appears I’m quote #1! Whee! This makes me all happy because I really, truly loved this book.

I hope Meany makes a mint off this. It’s gritty and fast-paced and weird in a wonderfully creepy way. It’s not light Urban Fantasy; it’s more SF and has a very strong Thriller-style plot with a noir feel. I just loved it and I haven’t seen anything else like it–Simon Green comes close, but his Nightside has a much stronger Fantasy feel than Meany’s Necro-powered city in the dark. It verges on Horror without becoming unbearably gruesome or morose, and has surprisingly funny moments and plenty of dark charm and likably human characters–even among the not-so-living. It’s nifty!

And on a personal note, I’m done with the copyedits, so I can now wrap up the front- and back-matter and get the edited manuscript back to the publisher. Yay!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Cool writerly people, other people's books, Personal blither, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bone Song

  1. Sarai says:

    Oh sounds good I have yet another book to add to the ever increasing TBR pile!

  2. I’ll make sure to look for it — it sounds really good!

  3. Elaine says:

    “It verges on Horror without becoming unbearably gruesome or morose,…” is exactly the way I like my horror. Thanks for the summary. I’ll read the book (and your quote).

Comments are closed.