Tyrannosaurus Manuscriptus….

And here I was having such fun getting no sleep and playing Wow… when the Copyedits arrived in the mail. They’re due back January 30. Not that big a deal and at 1/3 done already, I’m really surprised at how fast they are going. Why? Because Penguin changed copyeditors on me and I was sure this was going to mean experiencing the “break-in period” again–in which author and CE get in synch with each other’s quirks. But no! So far, this is the lightest, smoothest copyedit ever!

I had things pretty good with Cherilyn, the previous CE, so now I’m waiting for something to come along and ruin the party. A lot of writers seem to have miserable times with their publication team. Me? Hell no! Plainly my Irish luck is fully operable.

But I do hate having to do them, nonetheless. Bleh… you mean I have to look at this ms again? mean ol’ ms…. it’s like a bad penny: every time I think I’ve booted it out the door, it comes back in through the mail slot. Tyrant ‘script! Evil! (and I know I’ll see it at least one more time for proofs… *whimper*)

The Other Project isn’t anywhere near the state I wanted it in by now, so… once again it’s on the back burner. (see kat sigh….) Back to work….

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s), Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tyrannosaurus Manuscriptus….

  1. Elaine says:

    Guess you’re still working on copy edits. In a mysterious way, now that I don’t have a job to go to every day, I actually blog less. Odd.

    Reading “Poltergeist.” I like the thorough and efficient way you set up events so that situations come together like dominoes crashing. When I got to the scene in which Harper tells off her client and convinces him to stop his “research” it was so totally logical and such a natural consequence of what went before. Very believable. I guess that’s what I like best about your style — the quiet way you have of building things, sort of like a pearl in an oyster.

  2. Aww… thanks, Elaine.

    I just finished the heavy lifting on the copyedits and have to do the extras, but I’m basically done now. I think I’ll read a bit now that I have the time–reading my “recent reading” page reveals I haven’t posted a book since October. Because I didn’t have time to read much.

Comments are closed.