DONE!

Done, done, done, done, fucking well done!

Underground is its official title and it’s 407 pages on screen, 98,000 words in length–the shortest Greywalker novel first draft to date by almost 10,000 words. I was up until 4 a.m. with the last chapter and wrestled the Epilogue today for several hours. But it’s done.

Except for a quick read-through, spot-check for continuity, some tweaks, and a spell-check. Then it’s into the printer, off to the Post and onward to New York (and London.) At the moment I’m tempted to say “don’t let the post-flap hit you in the pulpy ass on your way out!” But I won’t. Eventually, maybe I won’t feel such disgust for this book, but right now it’s like The Man Who Came to Dinner.Β  Get ye gone, Monty Wooley!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s), Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to DONE!

  1. Jenni :-) says:

    Wheeee!!!

    Mazel tov, m’dear. πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you, gorgeous!

  3. Jim says:

    I like it πŸ™‚

  4. Chris says:

    Congratulations, Kat. I look forward to getting my hands on a copy of Poltergeist.

    All the best with the overseas rights and everything. Has a UK publisher been sorted out yet?

    All the best.

  5. Jim, I pay you to say that, so… of COURSE you like it! πŸ˜‰

    Chris: yeah, we did finally get that all straightened out–and the hang up was about exclusivity of distribution in the commonwealth and former colonies–like yours. So now it’s settled and the WHOLE group of 3 will be out in the UK edition next August–the same month as the US release of Underground, so…no waiting! But, I hear you’re going to be in SF in August and I’m hoping to be there myself, so maybe you’ll be able to take a US Poltergeist home, signed, and lord it over your friends. πŸ˜‰

  6. Chris says:

    Oh, didn’t realise it was out by then! That’d be pretty cool, yes. I hope to see you there. πŸ™‚

  7. Elaine says:

    Fabulous! I’m impressed and looking forward to reading it.

  8. I’m impressed I managed to finish. Though I really need to get some paper and print the stupid thing….

  9. Candace says:

    I just found copies of Greywalker and Poltergiest on amazon. I plan on ordering them in the next paycheck or two. I can’t wait to read them.

  10. Xpopher says:

    Congrats! now become a reclusive weasel owner and live on a boat.

    Oh, wait…

  11. But first… wild running about like a mad thing!

  12. Levi says:

    now that is comedy, and will there be a 4th tail of Harper’s Life?

  13. It was a three book contract, so although I want to do more, it’s up to the publisher.

  14. Levi says:

    Well if the other books are just as good or more so than the first I don’t see why you can not write a 5 book trilogy.

  15. Xpopher says:

    What you ought to do is write three or four more right quick like, then sell ’em in a couple of years. Make hay while the sun shines, and all that. Or is that drink beer while the paint dries?

    Anyway, it can’t be that hard to write a couple before christmas and then sit around looking smug when they sell. Can it?

  16. You, sir, are a trouble maker…. πŸ˜‰

  17. Sandy Carpenter says:

    I have been living vicariously [where’s the spell check when I need it?] through all the banter here and subsequent revues above, while traveling. I am so proud of you and all you have accomplished. I also know that you realize that the price of fame and having your own website leaves you open to comments/suggestions from “certain elements” who shall remain nameless! Hah, as my Momma would say… Well done !!!! Enjoy some fun time now!

  18. But I like my “elements”!

Comments are closed.