Sweetest Fan Mail EVER!

I got the following in e-mail today and it made my day. I think any writer would be totally over the moon to get a letter like this:

I have never been a big fan of reading a lot. Recently I moved with my
wife to Atlanta and needed some escape from the boredom of knowing nothing about my surroundings, and figured I might pick up a book or two and see if I can get into them. i don’t know what drove me to buy your book, but I do know it is the first time I have read a book cover to cover. It is also the first time that i have read the same book multiple times, hoping to catch something I didn’t the first time. To continue with the firsts, I am patiently awaiting the release of the next book in the series 🙂

Thank you for turning me on to reading.

(Name elided for privacy)

I’d like to nominate this reader for “world’s greatest fan.” Anybody else got a great fan story?

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Personal blither, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweetest Fan Mail EVER!

  1. Cliff Burns says:

    I’ll take a letter from a fan over a good review any day. You’ve made a connection with someone, an intimate bond has been forged between you, thanks to the power of words. I’ve kept a small stash of fan letters over the years but my favorite was probably from a lady in Poland who translated one of my stories for a Polish SF magazine. She wrote to tell me that she had enjoyed my story and that translating it had been a pleasure and she would watch for more of my work. Had to be 15 years ago but it still brings a tingle of joy.

  2. That’s the sort of vindication that keeps a writer writing. You’re doing it for a reason. You’re doing it for a reader. You’re doing it because – to someone – it matters.

    Congrats, Kat. That’s a keeper.

  3. I love your story Cliff. How nice! It’s not just that someone liked what you wrote, but that it gave them something more than just a few hours enjoyment that really brings a smile to the writer after days of torture and self-doubt.

    Hey, Alma! Is it as good as Fan Art? I still have green eyes over your devoted fan with the talent.

    I did get one other letter recently that still bowls me over: a reader told me she appreciated my fine grammar and good English skills. How often does someone even NOTICE you used “all right” instead of “alright” or put the stupid serial commas in right? Of course, I wrote back and burst the poor woman’s bubble by saying it was all due to my copyeditor, but I did send the editorial team the letter–they plainly deserved it.

    I’m definitely keeping those letters.

  4. Michael Ehart says:

    My favorite is still from my mom— “I have a problem with your comma usage, but I finished the story anyway.”

Comments are closed.