I am the Anti-Starbucks

OK, so… most of my friends know I avoid Starbucks coffee as a rule–I’m not a trendy Starbucks basher, I just don’t like the taste and never have. I passed this trait along to my character and someone noticed to the degree that Poltergeist and I got mentioned in a Publishers Weekly article called Writers Pour it On about the prevalence of Starbucks in pop fiction. Harper and I get the last word. I’m amused.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Just Plain Weird, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am the Anti-Starbucks

  1. Levi says:

    Starbucks rival Seattle’s Best Coffee, hasn’t infiltrated America’s literary scene to anywhere near the same extent. But it does get mentions in Kat Richardson’s Poltergeist (Roc, Aug.). Richardson’s Seattle-based paranormal investigator prefers SBC over Starbucks: “SBC was only a block from my office and I wished I’d thought to meet him there in the first place. At least I’d be able to get a decent cup of coffee.”

    Funny thing is I do some times get something at that evil empire Starbucks, but alas there are very few coffee houses in Sioux Falls,SD. I love this 24hr coffee shop in town called SanKofa, but I hardly have to the time to go.
    Oh and I do hope you read some of my poems, I would love to have a writers view of them.
    Well I will leave it at that, till the joining of this world and the next where the gray and the living cross.

  2. Rob says:

    Seattle’s Best Coffee is owned by Starbuck’s…..

    The issue I have with Starbuck’s is simple…

    Going deaf from the noise level created by steaming the milk.

    Ex-Starbuck’s DEAF Barista

  3. Yeah, I know. For which I shan’t forgive them. My issue with Starbucks is the frankly crappy coffee. SBC is not what it used to be, but it’s still not as skanky as a cup of drip from Starbucks

  4. Cafe Ladro!

    or even Tully’s!

    Exclamation points!!

  5. well.. back in 2000 when I started the series neither of them was much of a much

    I really LIKE Cafe Lladro! YUM!! good enough to drink black

Comments are closed.