Must… resist… reading

Once again I’m trying to resist reading a book by Tim Powers: On Stranger Tides. Damn the man! (and a milder damn to my friend Ken who sent me the book for my birthday–I love it, you rat!) I’m doing better with the manuscript–crossed 40,000 words today–but it’s still a bit of a struggle and distractions like pirate adventures by my favorite whacko writer of historic oddity and magical skullduggery are not helping me to concentrate. They just make me think I need another fight scene. And more action. And a couple of pirates.

Stop distracting me, you you… WRITER!

Once again I resort to my RASFiC whine of “Darn you Tim Powers!” (why do you have to write so good?)

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Personal blither, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Must… resist… reading

  1. Michael Ehart says:

    Dearest, never mind that it is one of his best, Oh No, never mind that. Don’t let the delicious thoughts of Powers-powered reading bliss sway you from your writerly duties.
    I warned you!

  2. I’ll get you for this later, Michael.

  3. ElaineG says:

    Congratulations on making continued progress in spite of (or because of?) your “fits and starts” conciousness. heh heh

  4. Levi says:

    I might just look up that book while I reserve your next oh I do spend a lot on books and health food. Add some protein to your diet should help with the blood sugar levels, My mother gets that way.

  5. The blood sugar problem seems to be related to the sinus medicine. Some changes to the timing of meals and so on helped.

    I really enjoyed On Stranger Tides. If you can get a copy from your library, definitely grab it, though, of course as a writer, I always like to hear that someone made money on the sale and Powers’s book had been out of print for a long time, so seeing it back on shelves in the new Babbage Press edition was a treat.

Comments are closed.