Fit-check word before opening mouth

My adorable fiend friend John P of RAM posted this link to library_mofo: Why Spell Check is your Friend. Should perhaps have been titled “Why Spell Check is NOT your Friend” since my spell checker includes lovely terms like “anal” and “mofo.”

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Just Plain Weird. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fit-check word before opening mouth

  1. ElaineG says:

    That’s good! Very funny.

    Just dropped by to let you know I finished “Greywalker.” It was as you promised and I like the story a lot. I found the ending quite satisfying. I shall read the next book in the series. I also like the way you matter-of-factly introduce Harper’s new world, friends and reality. I’m not a vampire freak so this is a good thing. Actually, this is the only vampire book I’ve ever read. Someone tried to get me to read Anne Rice once but I refused. The pusher was a pre-goth stereotype and I was no way gonna be like her. So, anyway. Thanks. Looking forward to the next one.

    I’m guessing “Greywalker” gave your spell checker a few fits.

    I did love “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” and accidently watched “Interview with the Vampire” once. How can movies be different? I don’t know.

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s crass, but it made me laugh.

    I’m not much of a vampire reader, myself. I don’t read horror, don’t particularly enjoy Anne Rice, found parts of Dracula interesting, but most of the modern vampire films just don’t do much for me and I’m not a goth, so the gothic ethic that dominates that market isn’t where I’m headed.

    Poltergeist has very few vampires in it and they aren’t major players when they do show up. They’ll have their turn, eventually, but not just yet….

    And yeah, I had to add “Grey” to the spell checker–but strictly as a proper noun with the capital letter. For a while, the thing freaked out and started correcting “gray” to “grey. I still want to know what the UK publisher will do about that…. 😉

  3. Elaine says:

    oh. bit late to reply. but I did notice a couple of UK turns of phrase. Can’t think of them at the moment but I remember reading them with a slightly delayed reaction. I lived in England for over a year and was married to an Englishman so lots of them seem natural to me. I read Terry Pratchett and wonder that so many turns of UK phrasing are untranslated in his works.

  4. I’m also married to a man whose formative years were spent in England. I also had several British teachers and read a lot of British lit–especially mysteries–when I was a kid, so a lot of odd language has stuck permanently in my head. Oh well….

  5. Levi says:

    Oh my I should of posted here for the Graywalker, but there is not much I can do about that. Well save for telling my friends about Graywalker or at least enough to get them to buy it.
    As for me I am sort of a mix, I read more of the funny stories, like Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, and Tolkien Hobbit and Lord of the Rings before the movie adaptations. Oh well I seam to just post to ramble. Funny thing is I was horrible at English class but I can write well for poems.

  6. Levi says:

    Oh no my ADD kicked in and I forgot to get “As for me I am sort of a mix.” I do say bad form on my part.

Comments are closed.