UK at last

Indeed my agents did excellent work during the London Book Fair and this morning we all agreed on a deal with Piatkus Books Ltd (British publisher of Zoë Sharp, Mary-Janice Davidson and JD Robb) for all three of the current Penguin-contracted books. Actual paperwork isn’t complete, so diddly details like when and how many and what format and all that fun stuff aren’t known to me, but native versions of Greywalker, Poltergeist, and Underground City will be showing up in the UK, eventually. Hurray! (And thanks to Zoë Sharp for helpful information about Piatkus so I didn’t wander around oblivious and sound like an owl when my agent brought them up.)

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to UK at last

  1. Hi, just to say ‘congrats’ on the UK deal. That’s such great news! Now us Brits won’t have to buy all your books as imports. 🙂 it’s nice to know stuff Actually Happens at the London Book Fair, too. I’ve been several times over the years (as a bookseller, previously) and it all seems a bit overwhelming…

  2. Thanks, Karen. I’m looking forward to seeing what gets changed if anything (I always have struggled with a mix of Brit and American spelling due to a formative English teacher who was actually English and it drives my editors nuts.)

    Everyone tells me LBF is so massive it’s exhausting, but if you’re in the industry it’s a must (well, not for writers, since it’s a book-business thing, not a writing-business thing) whether you actually close a deal there or not. Apparently the Frankfurt Book Fair is a big deal too for book business, since Germany is a huge market. The Germans are voracious readers, as are the Russians. If it’s in covers, they are probably interested.

  3. Hmm… I didn’t know that about the Russian readership, re. how passionate about books they are. Yeah, Frankfurt’s huge for book deals – I think it’s considered ‘bigger’ than LBF for the publishing industry. I work in a library now, so I’m not so on the ‘frontline’ of this side of things.

    I laughed about your mix of Brit and US spelling – I’ve made a late-ish return to writing and am working on my first ‘real’ novel, and am doing a similar thing. I’m British, but find I use tons of ‘Americanisms’… I think that’s just down to US culture and how it’s such a huge part of our lives over here, from shows like Buffy, X-Files, Sopranos, etc. to American Idol! Not to mention the music and movies (see? I’m using the US term automatically!).

  4. Oo… a Librarian! Do you guys get to have actual books in yours? Ours all seem to be turning into media centers for obnoxious high school students to indulge their internet habits while pretending to study.

    Apparently it’s a dire insult to call a Russian “uncultured” or “illiterate,” but they seem to simply love books, even if the books aren’t always artistic–maybe it’s a leftover from when the only exposure most Soviets got to outside culture was through blackmarket books. I wish Americans felt more passionate about books. Sometimes it seems you have to trick them into reading. “Looky: a tie-in from your favorite TV show! I know it’s a book, but it won’t hurt you. It has Buffy on it!”

    I sometimes suspect the pervasiveness of “American” comes from the sheer volume of our babble output.

  5. Yes! Actual books… 🙂 That’s funny, but sadly too true these days. I’m lucky that I work in a small community-focused library, though there is a very high percentage of elderly members, I suppose. I actually enjoy dealing with them (well, most of them!) but it’s a shame that the teenage readership is quite small. I often do that “tricking” thing you talk about – “see, here’s an ‘original’ Smallville novel. Oh look, an OC ‘novelisation’…”

    And, for the record, I have to admit to loving the American ‘pervasiveness’ in popular culture, especially when it comes to TV. I hardly watch anything now, but when I do it’s usually a US import. The only decent British TV show at the moment is Doctor Who. Ah well, must stop doing my own babbling and leave you to get on with the next book! Nice chatting to you, though.

  6. I solemnly promise to try and meet up with you if you come over to do promo.

    *hopes*

  7. That would rock! I’m hoping we can manage to get to that side of the pond next Spring, since I need to do some research for Books 4 and 5 in London if possible. But I have no idea when Piatkus will get books on shelves or what other things may be going on when.

    Ah… the exciting life of an author….

  8. I shall cross my fingers for you, which is a great sacrifice, because as we all know, it’s really difficult to type with your fingers crossed.

  9. Sandy Carpenter says:

    At last the Brits have come to their senses!!!! Hip Hip Hooray! All of your friends and family in the UK will be so excited. As you know you can rely on your extended “family” in London to help with your research.They will also be expecting a visit and will throw you an incredible Congrats party. Bo and I will be there too!!

  10. Mae, you’re allowed to uncross your fingers if you cross your toes instead. 😉

    Sandy!! (hurray!) Jim and I are both very much looking forward to going. Have to get some other details in place but it’s been a point of discussion for quite a while–I was promised a trip once I got final approval on Book 3 which is in the messy, messy right now and I SHALL have it!!

    Any trip to England would simply not be complete without you and Bo. The tricky bit will be getting to everywhere we want to in the time my lovely hubby will have off. I may stick around if I’m not done, since I can write anywhere, but himself has to go home to the office eventually–poor fellow.

Comments are closed.