Back to the old country

appropriate stamp for IRS forms Spent some time waiting in lines at the Postal Orifice today (my local branch is actually pretty decent, but I still find the service as a whole unpredictable and suspect.) Along with the obvious beggary forms for the government’s financial shock troops, I returned the Romanian rights contracts. I hope they don’t get lost in the landslide of tax returns. I’m a lot more interested in my paltry contract–and it is paltry–than whatever the government’s been doing with my tax money (and if they will give any of it back to me), to be honest. I usually figure that whatever the gov has already snagged is not coming back and I’m just going through the ritual motions to keep the monsters at bay–like throwing spilled salt over the shoulder.

What is one supposed to throw to keep financial vampires away…? (Aside from more money, that is.)

vampire bunny But more importantly, when will the contracts get to Romania? And is the Romanian Postal Service as vague as the US one? Should I have put garlic in the envelope against postal vampires? (Do they suck the words off the pages of missives for sustenance? or do they just go for the stamps? And do they look like this guy, on the left?) Weirdly, the USPS won’t allow a Delivery Confirmation on a First Class letter that is less than 3/4 of an inch thick–and the contracts aren’t that large–and I didn’t feel a need to send them Priority Mail as I usually do, since Steve is still in London and I want the contracts to land on his desk after he gets home so they’ll be on the top of the stack of mail rather than hidden deep inside it. And I hope he’ll let me know when they arrive, since the USPS won’t. With luck–and the usual dutiful and speedy service afforded by the USPS’s loyal cross-country delivery tortoises, so long as they don’t get jumped by vampire bunnies–they’ll show up on Monday. I hope, I hope, I hope.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Personal blither, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to the old country

  1. Nathan says:

    i was surprised and delighted by such a hastey response (not to mention a little giddy at the thought that i was reading the personal words of a published author concerning a personal question).

    Nonetheless, all enthusiams aside, i found the advice quite helpful. i find that in my eagerness to see a bound piece with my name on it, i sometimes (rather i should say often) fail to slow down and consider how a mixed audience would take the material. With this in mind i am going to complete my editing and enlist several varying minds to dive into my world (a truly daunting task indeed… perhaps i’ll have to offer them a free dinner upon completion- it would serve as a good opurtunity to have all criticisms delivered if nothing else).

    now… assuming my “audience” deems the material worthy of resting on the shelves of a Barnes & Noble and i feel ready to send my ink and paper love-child off to be judged, what is the best way to decide on publishers? various professors that i’ve asked this to have returned with different ideas of what the next step would be, and though i certainly value their opinions, i would like yet another (especially if the source is a published author who writes in a somewhat similar genre).

    i feel somewhat strange messaging you with these questions that are unrelated to your work and was hoping i could also perhaps ask some questions concerning GREYWALKER (one of my new favorites):

    1) where did the inspiration for the GREYWALKER universe emerge?
    2) how far do you plan to carry the story of Detective Blaine?/how many books are expected/planned?

    honestly there’s a lot more, but most of them are curiosities concerning where the story is going, and i’m going to try and save those and be patient until the sequal comes out.

    Good luck with everything and thanks again.
    Nathan
    PS- Dig the vampire bunny
    PPS- I’d prefer to be seen as a groovy fan of a talented author and not an annoyance. if my questions/comments become a hassle (since a hectic business life [and ferrets] can do that), please tell me so that i can gracefully withdraw before an admiring reader becomes an annoying fan.

  2. I only wish I had a forum space I could direct you to so this conversation would be easier (I can’t pester my husband to set one up, right now). The blog post-and-reply thing doesn’t work very well for this. And I’m a little swamped with the current book, so I can’t put the sort of time into a longer reply that either of us might like.

    Inspiration for Greywalker and the world-set came from a lot of different places, including some physics and metaphysics books I was reading at the time, an old British TV show about a ghost detective and the general weirdness that exists in Seattle. I think there’s a Romantic Times article coming out in May that has the info. (Someday I really need to do a FAQ….) I will eventually do more “Tips for Newbie Authors” about some of this stuff.

    How many books: I sent an initial arc proposal for 5, but there’s room for as many as the publisher and I feel comfortable with. I have a current contract for 3 and expect to renew it, but nothing’s a sure thing in this business and I don’t know how many Greywalker books there will be in the end.

Comments are closed.