Half the job

I’m half-way through with the final proofs on Poltergeist. I don’t feel so enthusiastic about the whole thing at the moment as I did a few months ago, so it seems odd to be expending such fine-grained attention on this, but I suppose that no matter what may develop out of the uncertain weirdness that is lowering on my personal horizon at the moment, it’s better to do a job I won’t be embarrassed to own up to, later.

On the upside, though, I got my schedule for Norwescon today (this is gonna be mega-fun!):

Thursday 8:00 PM Cascade 7
Writing a Novel in a Year This year, next year, and the one after that. Come and see how some writers do it, both with a day job and without one. (I now do this regularly–I’m hoping/dreading to get into the swing of doing 2 per year, soon.) Lisa Mantchev (M), Brenda Cooper, Greg Cox & Kat Richardson

Thursday 9:00 PM Cascade 7
Writing a story in an Hour With Jay Lake and company. Come and see. Heckle, throw ideas or fresh vegetables. (Please… No veg–fresh or rotten. I didn’t ask for this one, so I suspect one of my friends suggested I should be on it. This one kinda scares me….) Jay Lake (M), Caitlin Kittredge, Lisa Mantchev & Kat Richardson

Friday 5:00 PM Cascade 9
Bounty Hunter, PI, Cop–Mystery Protagonists in Fantasy/Horror/SF It’s not new, but it is popular. Cross-genre authors discuss melding the traditional characters and structures of Mystery with Fantasy/Horror/SF. (Mine! I suggested it, I get to run it! Bwahahaha!) Kat Richardson (M), Michael Ehart, Caitlin Kittredge, Pat MacEwen & Cynthia Ward

Friday 6:00 PM Cascade 7
The Vampire, Zombie, Alternative History, Detective, Romance, Futuristic Novel Cross genre novels seem to be a favored by publishers these days. Just how many genres can you cross at one time? (OK, it’s repetative, but who cares? Look at the cast!)
Cherie Priest (M), Loren W. Cooper, Caitlin Kittredge, Richelle Mead & Kat Richardson

Saturday 10:00 AM Cascade 8
No, Really, That Makes Sense Our distinguished panel of experts explains why certain widely- seen SF and fantasy elements that seem absurd actually have legitimate explanations. Come hear why it makes sense for barbarian sword babes to wear chain-mail bikinis, why computers on starships never crash or lock up with indecipherable error messages, and why male scientists in SF are always really good looking guys who are irresistible to brilliant, beautiful women.” (Now… this terrifies me: I’m not funny and I can’t lie, so this version of “the Liars Panel” may well be my date in Hell. But what the fuck….) Michael Ehart (M), Amy Thomson, Kat Richardson & Lori Edwards

Saturday 11:00 AM Evergreen 1 & 2
Autograph Session 2 Kat Richardson (Assuming anyone cares)

Saturday 2:00 PM Cascade 8
Neither Fish nor Fowl Mixing genres in Fantasy/Horror/SF. Whether it’s a Fantasy with a Mystery plot, a Horror novel with Romance, or a Space Opera in Western clothes, cross-genre books are hot. Get the scoop on how some authors are successfully cross-breeding plots, characters structures, and tropes. (Can you guess who suggested this? Oui, c’est moi! I r teh cross-genre Qyeeen!) Andrew Dolbeck (M), Richelle Mead, Kat Richardson, Jay Lake & Cynthia Ward

Saturday 5:30 PM Cascade 3
Reading: Kathleen Richardson (I always bring snacks as reader-bait–last year, macroons. This year… who knows?)

I’m so spoiled. I get to be on programs with some of my favorite folk. Caitlin and I will be joined at the hip (her hip–I’m not really hip, unless you go by inches in which case I prefer the term “zaftig”), Richelle will be near at hand several times, spreading the redhead charm, and then we reach critical mass with the addition of the utterly fab Cherie Priest to dominate the Zombie panel!! Oh… sorry… got a little carried away there. Not that I think my other co-panelists are chopped liver, mind you. There’s a couple I’ve never met, that I recall, but the rest are tres excellente (OMG! Jay Lake! Michael Ehart! Lori Edwards–the evil wench! I squee with joy!) And Pat Rothfuss will be around, too. This is going to be sweet!

The downside is that my fabulously funny agent, Steve Mancino, won’t be coming after all–he’s had to cancel all his travel for this year because of a medical condition. It’s way too bad. I think he’d have a blast making fun of me and drinking with the Biohazard crew.

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Conventions and signings, Cool writerly people, Stuff about the book(s). Bookmark the permalink.