Oh Tannen Bomb

I know it’s considered not cool, but I kind of like the whole Christmas/Hannukah/KwanzuSoltimas thing. People are all excited and there are nifty decorations and everything smells good–even the bums have a piney-fresh scent. It’s also when you can get Pfefferneusse with your coffee and no one thinks you’re sneezing when you ask for it. Well, a few of them do but that’s because they are uneducated savages! Get away from me with your insipid sugar cookies!

Ahem… but I digress…. As you guys know I have a strange obsession with Rudolph having once killed him off in a short story (“The Werewolf Before Christmas”, which can be found in the fabulous anthology Wolfsbane and Mistletoe) and outed Santa for hunting him through the mean streets of the world in one of my many horrible essays. And I happen to really love Christmas music. Not all Christmas music, but I do have a soft spot for truly warped stuff like “Wreck the Malls,” “I Want an Alien for Christmas,” “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Fishmen” and anything by PDQ Bach.

But I have to admit that one of my favorite evil Christmas songs is… Chiron Beta Prime by Jonathan Coulton. Which I include here with the video from the Jonathan Coulton Project:

Merry KwanzuSolstiHanuCrass, all you mine-slaves!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Personal blither, Silliness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh Tannen Bomb

  1. Saundra, Bob & Fam says:

    Oh, Kat. Love your wry humor… and your crazy sci-fi christmas tune post! Happy New Year & all that jazz to you & yours. xo, The Maltese Falcon Crew (Bob, Saundra & offspring)

  2. Colleen (MizBehavin1) says:

    Do you own the “Dr. Demento Presents” Christmas CD? Having grown up in L.A., I’m guessing you might remember that wacky Sunday night program on KMET. And the tunes it contains run the gamut from silly & fun to truly demented. I’m thinking it just may be up your alley. :D

    http://www.rhino.com/shop/product/various-artists-dr-demento-presents-the-greatest-christmas-novelty-cd-of-all-time#whatsInside-496

  3. I like all the flavors of the seasons also and while we don’t have bums up here at the Adirondacks, I am fairly certain the deer are misting themselves with a festive orange-clove concoction. It’s downright magical.
    Admittedly, I do get somewhat cross when someone wants me to only choose one winter feast flavor.
    well, I’d better go iron my dashiki and get that yule log prepped.
    Love that video!

Comments are closed.