Noir Quote of the Week!

This post is from the discussion of The Dark Knight that’s currently going on at my favorite noir reading list. While I haven’t seen the film yet, the quote just makes me pleased as Punch:

I think that the idea that a super hero story can’t be noir simply because it’s a super hero story is one of the most intellectually retarded things I’ve read in a long time. There’s enough grief, loss, and ruin in The Dark Knight to give Cornell Woolrich geek-wood, and that’s saying something.
–Mark Finn posting on Rara Avis

That’s beautiful: “enough… to give Cornell Woolrich geek-wood.” Were Mr. Woolrich here today, he’d be writing for DC Comics and loving it (the sick bastard.) Thank you Mark Finn!

About Kat Richardson

Writer, editor, eccentric pain in the tail, bestselling author of the Greywalker novels.
This entry was posted in Cool writerly people, Just Plain Weird. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Noir Quote of the Week!

  1. Adele says:

    geek wood. i like it.

  2. It amused the hell out of me.

Comments are closed.